Pastoral Council

The Parish Pastoral Council is an outgrowth of a broad program that was developed in response to directions issued by the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965) that both the clergy and laity should cooperate in parish life and church mission.

The purpose of the pastoral council is to assist in the further development of a Christian community by assessing the needs of the parish then finding ways to respond to those needs.  

In the charitable, social spheres, it is up to the Pastoral Council to promote the coordination of various lay association within the parish, while protecting and preserving the proper individuality of each organization.

The Pastoral Council consists of the pastor, parochial vicar, and 7 lay members. As vacancies occur, the lay members are replaced by selection by the council and the pastor, and serve a 3-year term. Anyone interested in serving should contact the pastor or the president of the Pastoral Council.


7:00 pm every 3rd Thursday of the month.


Pastor             Fr. Hao Dinh
P. Vicar            Fr. Rey Sarmiento

Chair               John Pozniak

Secretary        Tom Roza

Member         Harry Stice

Member         Debbie Teng

Church of the Ascension

12033 Miller Avenue

Saratoga, California 95070

Phone: 408-725-3939
Fax: 408-725-3932


Contact List of

Parish Administration & Staff
Advisory Groups, Ministries,

Office Hours:

Due to the Shelter-in-Place order, our Office closed until further notice.

  • Mon. - Wed.:  9:00 am - 2:00 pm

  • Thurs.:          9:00 am - 1:00 pm

  • Fri.:               9:00 am - 4:00 pm

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

Copyright ©2020 by Parish of Ascension - All rights reserved.  Question or comment, please email to